top of page

Caitlin's Weekly Rant: "Christmas in November"

Not many things get me riled up, at least not to the degree that Christmas in November does. Mine seems to be an unpopular opinion. Don’t get me wrong, I love Christmas. I love seeing people’s faces light up when I hand them a gift, or the twinkling lights that makes the usually dreary town centres glow, or the atmosphere itself. But I love it all the more when it comes at the right time. The lead up to Christmas, I feel, is a delicate thing – too short, and there isn’t enough hype, too much and it gets boring, too drawn out, too sickening, and that’s exactly what it’s like when it extends to November.

Two months of Christmas songs? I love them, of course I do – it’s impossible to be brought up with those cheery tunes and not like them – but that doesn’t mean I can stand two months of hearing the same jingle and the same words and the same grating voices over and over again, because that’s exactly what these channels do – for a genre that has so many choices of songs, there is an annoying tendency to repeat the same few that everyone knows the words to. This is something that I can stand for December, a month at tops. Not two.

Christmas brings out kindness in people who might usually be cold. It’s one of the things I will always love about Christmas. But that doesn’t mean people can stand being happy for two months straight. The bigger the lead up to Christmas, the more likely it is that people just want to get it over with. That’s not a feeling I want to associate with Christmas.

These are only some of the reasons that I think Christmas should stick to its own month. It is the best holiday of the year, but too much of anything makes it overwhelming. Christmas, you’re no exception.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page